His and Hers

My wife recently asked me if I made offering to my ancestors alone, or if I petitioned her ancestors as well as mine during my rites. I pondered it for a moment, and then realised that I’d never given it much thought.

As household priest, Hearth-ward, Pater Familias, or whatever you want to call it, I see to our hearth and I make offerings on our behalf, for the continued sanctity and well-being of the home.

I consider my wife and I to be of equal footing in the home, so it isn’t as cut and dry as “You are head of house, your gods win by default.” But, because I am Heathen and she is not, it falls upon my shoulders to preserve the cult and see that our duties are upheld and offerings are made. A role I happily take on.

Perhaps, because our luck is so intertwined and we have become family, the distinction is wholly unnecessary, as my kin and hers are now a unified entity. I consider her people Sibb, just as she does mine. Her well-being affects my well-being and vice versa, so clear divisions between our familial dead make little sense in terms of purpose. I give to the ancestral head of household, the Cofgod(s), and they distribute this luck, this mægen, to the gathered dead, whoever they might be.

One thought on “His and Hers

Leave a Reply

